Eleven Things I Suspect Are True

google image: taodirectory.co.uk

Truth is like the stars; it does not appear except from behind obscurity of the night. Truth is like all beautiful things in the world; it does not disclose its desirability except to those who first feel the influence of falsehood. Truth is a deep kindness that teaches us to be content in our everyday life and share with the people the same happiness.” Kahlil Gibran

I’ve pondered on the number of things I thought I knew for sure, and then found out they weren’t true. I’ve held tight to many ideas that somewhere down the road proved to be a fallacy, which is an error in reasoning. It is not easy to let go of that which held meaning for me for years.

google image:islandgirl4ever2.blogspot.com

Some beliefs I’ve had to give up are:

  • It doesn’t matter what my DNA is, if I take care of myself and eat healthy and live right, I’ll never have the diseases my family has.
  • If I believe in something long and hard enough, it will happen.
  • If I hang on tight to people and control them they won’t leave.

These are just a few ideas I held dear to my heart. It wasn’t easy finding out my romantic and idealistic notions about life weren’t necessarily so.

I do not believe things as quickly as I did before I matured and began to get a little wisdom. I’ve learned to hold life more lightly and to test my beliefs before I throw myself into them head first. After close examination on the changes in my life and  the new experiences I’ve lived, I ‘ve concluded there are eleven things that I do suspect are true.

1. When I say no because I really mean no, I like myself. The person I said no to may not like me but I’ve just reminded myself that it’s okay to say no. Being faithful to who I am is one way I honor my soul.

google image:personalexcellence.co

2. When I say yes to life without knowing how I’m going to accomplish what I said yes to, I’m giving myself an opportunity to expand, while stepping out of my comfort zone.

3. When I put my heart and soul on paper, I’m opening to myself and to my readers. I’m okay with sharing my life as long as it makes a difference for at least one person. Otherwise, I’m pouring seeds on stony ground.

image:wall photos

4. When I receive comments from people who read my words, I know I’m being heard. Knowing my life has touched someone encourages me and makes me feel good.

5. When I’m willing to face my fears instead of run from them, I’m challenging myself to stay on the path and courageously continue to put one foot in front of the other.

image: wall photos

6. Every time I opt out of my story, I set myself free to discover my authentic self. My story is deceiving and if I don’t pay attention I start believing it.

7. Any suffering I experience in life is not about the circumstances, experience, or people involved. I suffer because of what I tell myself about what’s happening. Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

image: wall photos

8. Practicing mindfulness changes the way I perceive life. When I stay awake and bring presence to my every day life and chores, my perception changes.

9. Having close friends and a beautiful supportive husband who knows me, loves me and accepts me for who I am is priceless.

image: wall photos

10. When I break through the inertia I sometimes experience about my writing, I see results. Putting my pen to paper and my fingers to the keyboard catapults me into another dimension. The world of creating through the use of words which join together to form phrases which morph into sentences, is a world I belong to. I’m grateful for the gift of knowing and living my passion and purpose.

11. As long as I live love and come from love, life flows. When I put my ego between my Self and love, all involved lose. Unconditional love, which is non-judgmental, heals and unites. Any message or behavior that is not rooted in love breeds distortion and division.

image: wall photos

What do you suspect is true about yourself and life? Grab a piece of paper and a pen and write your answer. Putting your truth on paper is powerful. Once you’ve written something down you have evidence in front of your eyes of what you know and suspect to be true.

I’d appreciate hearing your thoughts on this topic. Please leave me a comment.

 

MAKING A DIFFERENCE THROUGH CONSCIOUS CONNECTIONS 

On July 2, Streams of Consciousness on Facebook will begin a daily posting of short, mindful suggestions for making and sustaining conscious connections with Self, others, life, and the planet.

Dont’ miss it. Empower yourself and others. Become what you’d like to see on the planet.

 Go to: www.facebook.com/streamsofconsciousness and click on like. Become a part of the growing movement of people who are committed to making a difference in our world.  

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Beliefs, Change, Consciousness, healing stories, inspirational, Mindfulness, spiritual, Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eleven Things I Suspect Are True

  1. Hermionejh says:

    That’s just beautiful, Brenda. I love the photos and gifs interspersed. Art really helps illuminate writing, doesn’t it? Thanks for your wonderful post! ♥ Jerri

    • brendamarroy says:

      You’re welcome, Jerri. I like using photos because they add to the story. A picture is worth a thousand words so I intersprese pictures here and there. Hugs to you. ❤

  2. This such a great post!

  3. Roseann T. Kriebel says:

    Brenda~~~You don’t need to touch any other soul but your own. The only life for which you are responsible is yours. All else is gravy…. Thanks for the gravy.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Hey rosie. You’re welcome for the gravy.

      As for me, I do need to touch others with kindness, compassion and wisdom. Because I am a part of the whole, when one suffers all suffer ,so I must continue to reach out. I’m not responsible for anyone’s healing, but I do need to touch. As I said, this is my calling so I can only answer for me.
      Thanks for your continued support of me and my blog, Rosie. Love and hugs.xoxoxo

  4. Marni Willms says:

    Powerful exercise, Brenda … one that reinforced the message that I have been receiving over and over for weeks about functioning from the inside-out as opposed to the outside-in. Thank you so much for sharing your truths and prompting me to start pondering and writing down my own.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Dear Marni,
      Thank you for reading my blog and leaving a comment. I so understand the inside-out comment. I keep reminding myself and others that healing is an inside job.No one can do it for us. We must be willing to take that journey to wherever we need to go to find and recapture that person we left behind.

      I love writing in my journal. I write almost everything and have done this for years. As I said in the blog, when we write it down it is evidence right in front of our face.

      I wish you many happy and joyful moments of writing. Blessings. Brenda

  5. kdkh says:

    Thank you. Powerfully said. I’m sharing on Facebook! Hope it’s OK. If not, let me know.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you for your comment. Please feel free to share on all social media sites and with others in your network. I appreciate all who help to get the word out. Hugs and blessings to you. xoxo

  6. Hello Brenda! This is a wonderful post. I really started thinking about some things. You touched on some things at the beginning of the post that made me feel a little uncomfortable…I asked myself, “Why did I feel uncomfortable?” The truth is because I am, in my heart of hearts, starting to strip away some of those same old beliefs but I was too afraid to admit it. Particularly, number two really resonated with me about “If I believe in something long enough or hard enough it will happen.” I was so afraid to give voice to that one. What I know for sure, is that it doesn’t mean that good things won’t happen to me, but I have to learn how to live in the moment. When I spend too much time in the past or in the future, I missing out the miracles that happen right here, right now. Thank you so much, Brenda. I will definitely write more on this topic. Blessings ~ Tameko ~

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you Tameko.
      This reminded me of another thing I suspect is true and it is this: When I find myself fighting a thought, it’s time for me to step back and see why I’m feeling threatened. If I don’t have an attachment to a thought or a belief, I don’t have a big negative response when someone opposes it, or sheds light on my fear of maybe letting it go.
      You have such great insight. Blessings to you also. Brenda

  7. sharechair says:

    Enjoyed reading your thoughts. You mentioned one of my favorites, “suffering is optional”. The first time I saw that I was reading a book by Sylvia Boorstein, called “It’s Easier Than You Think, The Buddhist Way to Happiness.” It’s a wonderful, small book, packed with wisdom. A life-changer. If you’ve not read it, I suggest you put it on your ‘must read’ list… it’s wonderful. : )

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

