Guest Post: How a Workplace Accident Helped me Find Happiness

My guest post today is from Jessica Conrad.  Jessica says she has a passion for dancing, writing, and spending time with her family in her beautiful tranquil garden.

This post makes some good points. Enjoy.

How A Workplace Accident Helped Me Find Happiness

I am here to tell you a story of waking up and finally beginning to appreciate my life in full. It may sound corny but one day a life-changing event made me see in colour for the first time.

I went to work as usual and had the most banal accident imaginable. I slipped on the wet floor in the corridor. It looked innocent enough except I ended up in bed for a month with a prospect of always having to walk with a cane. Docs also said I was lucky that I was only 25 at the time, and my young age would help me recover better.

google image:superstock.com

I had a lot of time to lay there and think about where I was in life. On the surface I had a steady job at the office, I liked the people I worked with, etc etc. But something was missing and it was the discomfort of my physical condition that helped me find it.

Having to depend on someone to go to the bathroom and move around was mortifying. Mobility and movement which I always took for granted seemed like the most attractive thing in the world then. But the most amazing change in me was my dreams that I began seeing every night. I was dancing in every one of them, sometimes alone in front of a mirror, sometimes on stage or in a club, with everyone watching me. I looked and felt beautiful. Every object around me was beautiful and full of vivid colours.

Rhythm, a sequence in time repeated, featured ...

And something inside me was different. I knew that the moment I would be able to get up and go I would head straight for the dance class. I didn’t care what the doctors were saying, or how old I was, or what my parents and friends would say.

Two years later, I now teach dance to my young students. I have lost 20 pounds, I am in the best of forms ever, engaged to a great guy and doing what I always wanted to do, which is DANCE. I know I will never be a superstar because I started so late but I am happy and privileged to teach the kids that come to me. I share my passion for dancing with them.

A man and a woman performing a modern dance.

A man and a woman performing a modern dance. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now as I read your post on mental scotoma (see related article below) I realized that I had this blind spot all my life. I simply pretended to be ok with my existence when I wasn’t even living at all. I remembered only recently that I did try dancing in second grade and was kicked out of the class because of discipline. I couldn’t believe I blocked that incident out completely.

I was ashamed to go back and look at it and always thought I was a terrible dancer as a result. Looking back as the new, fulfilled me,  I see a little girl who was bored to death with the primitive steps and moves and rebelled by misbehaving. The truth I was running from is this: I was too good for that class and the teacher didn’t know what to do with me! It goes to show how one unwise teacher can change the course of your life, and how children should always feel beautiful and appreciated.

I am happy I know who I am. I am awake and receptive to new experiences that every day brings. And when I want to do something, I just go ahead and do it. We’ve got one life!

 Jessica’s website is: http://www.accidentassistance.co.uk/accident-types/accidents-at-work.aspx

Related arfticle: Discovering our Primal Law http://brendamarroyauthor.com/2012/06/04/discovering-our-primal-law/

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Change, Consciousness, Guest Blog, Healing, inspirational, Miracles, motivational and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest Post: How a Workplace Accident Helped me Find Happiness

  1. That is amazing! To think something so horrible could result in you literally following your dreams. I am so proud and filled with joy for you!

  2. brendamarroy says:

    Sharon: I agree. This is such a good story.
    Thanks for reading and for leaving a comment. 🙂

  3. What an excellent post! Thank you Jessica for sharing this turning point in your life. Isn’t it so true for so many of us that we sometimes need a wake up call of mega proportions to awaken? What a wonderful testimony! Sharon

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks Sharon, life is too precious and we waste time on silly things and often loose touch with what is actually important x

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

