The Courage of the Human Spirit

Courage: From Latin, cor, which means heart. The quality of being brave; valor. (Taken from Websters New World Dictionary and Thesaurus, Second Edition)

 On Saturday morning, my first thought when I got out of bed was of Paul still not having a job. I fixed a cup of coffee and spent quiet time breathing and writing. Though I felt fearful due to our circumstances, I also felt the push within to get dressed and get on with my day.

I sat at my desk and turned to my daily prompt which was, “What can you celebrate today?”  I did not have to wait for a response. Probably due to the situation I find myself in, I immediately wrote down, ” I celebrate the courage of the human spirit to survive.

The Freedom of the Human Spirit by Marshall Fr...

The Freedom of the Human Spirit by Marshall Fredericks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 Somehow when the going gets rough Iam able to dig deep and come up with whatever it takes to get through one more day.That one day may be filled with love and excitement, trauma, joy, sadness, loss, frustration, failure or success, and many more events and feelings.  

No matter what the day brings, most of us have the will to survive. We can lose jobs, loved ones, health and belongings and still muddle through to the other side.  Some fold and give up but the majority pull themselves up by their bootstraps if necessary and find a way to keep going. Perhaps this is a good example of the courage of the human spirit.

As I look back at my life, no matter what situation I have been in I’ve somehow been able to tap into the river of life flowing within me. It’s always been there to sustain me and help me get through whatever is going on. I have not always been able to make sense of what or why life is as it is, but no matter, I’ve continued to put one foot in front of the other and make it through.

Humans carry within a great capacity to endure and to heal. Our bodies are limited but the human spirit is limitless. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger is a popular saying and it may be true. If we learn the lessons, if we stay awake and aware to what’s being worked within us during the dark times, we will grow and be more compassionate beings. I’m in awe of the indomitable strength we possess in our inner being.

google image: taodirectory.co.uk

I question what it is in the human spirit that keeps us going, and realize it may not be the same for all.  I believe for some it’s fath in something they can’t see, yet they believe is there.  They trust in a god who will look after them and not let them down. I’ve heard many over the years profess loudly how god has taken care of them. They say their faith has sustained them and brought them through the tougher times in life, and I believe them.

For some it’s hope. They hope things will change and life will get better. They expect and want a different and a better outcome and many get what they hope for.

Courage is the anwser

Courage is the anwser (Photo credit: SIDΔ)

What about those without faith or hope? What keeps them going? I do know people who do not believe in a god and who at times feel hopeless, yet they have the courage to continue in life.

I believe something we all have is the will of the human spirit to live and survive.  It is that unexplainable something–similar to that which keeps the physical body functioning and moving without our giving it any thought.

What keeps me going is a combination of all the above. I do have faith in something larger than myself. I call it universal energy, goddess mother, creator energy, great spirit, higher self, and spirit. The name and energy I assign to it doesn’t really matter. What makes my faith powerful is my belief in this huge benevolent, mystical, divine sweep of mysterious energy.

google image:soularbliss.com

I also have hope and a strong will to continue to unfold into the fullness of who I came to be. My hope isn’t in a change of circumstances as much as it is in my strong desire to accept life as it is without fighting it. I will to continue to let my spirit triumph over the ups and downs of everyday life.

How about you? What keeps you going when life gets rough? What do you think pushes humans to keep going in the face of what seems to be insurmountable odds? What trait or characteristic of the human spirit keeps us keeping on? I look forward to your thoughts.

http://youtu.be/1-ann7BnC7A

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Beliefs, Consciousness, Healing, inspirational, motivational, spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Courage of the Human Spirit

  1. Pingback: The Good, the Brave, the Extraordinary | Two Voices, One Song

  2. Trust that things will ultimately work out without me knowing or doing a thing. Remembering (at this age) that I’ve been here before. Acceptance of divine will over my own. Identifying core traits is a good thing to know. When I was dealing with cancer I picked three core traits to bring to the situation. I chose courage, strength and humour. I highly recommend humour.

    • brendamarroy says:

      I totally agree with everything you mentioned.
      Humor is a powerful action to bring to the plate. The ability to laugh at Self ranks at the top for me. I’m blessed because my husband and I laugh a lot at ourselves together and at each others silliness.

      Would you consider writing a guest piece for my blog about humor? I’d love to hear how you find it, how it affects you, and how you use it in different types of situations. What do you find humorous? Please let me know.

      Thank you for visiting my blog and for leaving a message. 🙂

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    if ever I don’t know what to do…I let it go…for if I can’t find a solution, or rhyme or reason
    I figure it is not mine to sort out…I just except that Goddess will take care of it..though every once in awhile I do like to put in my 2cents/sense maybe She needs a different way of looking sometime..
    you just never know…
    Thanks Brenda…I feel …for I am waiting to see if I finally get this job ….*sigh*

    Take Care …to yu and Paul

    )0(
    maryrose

    • brendamarroy says:

      thanks maryrose. I agree. Some things are just not meant to be sorted out. I notice how often I just don’t know, and I’m getting more comfortable with not knowing. There are countless times when all that is required of me is to sit still and stay awake to whatever is going on.
      Thank you for reading and commenting. Love and hugs.

  4. My faith in God, and I believe love is a strong motivation for going on, against sometimes the odds. When things seemed to get to be too much and the struggles seemed insurmountable for me, my faith strengthened my resolve, and the love that I had for those that ‘needed’ me to keep trying was my motivation….Diane

  5. Roseann T. Kriebel says:

    Very well expressed, from the heart without fluff. Thank you, Brenda, for sharing your life, your wisdom. Blessings to you and Paul.

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

