Guest Blog: My Lotus Soul Project

 My guest blogger this week is Tameko Barnette. She is a published writer on holistic health and meditation. Her new blog is interesting and very well done. She picks a Creative Flow Tarot card for each week and gives a reading.  

This article is about her experience with Kundalini Yoga. The word kundalini is Sanskrit and means energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine. The purpose of Kundalini Yoga is to activate this energy so it moves throughout the body. 

MY LOTUS SOUL PROJECT by Tameko Barnette

image:flickriver.com In a quest to find a way to focus my energies and bring about positive change in my life, I decided to connect with and through Kundalini yoga.  I was already a yogini since 2004, but I really wanted to up the ante a bit.  I felt as though things were not moving along in my life.  I felt stagnant.  Still. Asleep.

During my early years of Hatha and Raja yoga practice, I had stumbled onto Kundalini yoga, but I felt I was not quite ready for such an advanced style of yoga. So, I left the whole thing alone until Autumn 2011.  It was November 19th actually.  Although, it wasn’t a particularly special day in terms of holidays, it was eight days after the 11/11/11 date, which everyone in the spiritual community was buzzing about.

I grabbed a new journal that was given to me as a gift and I blessed it as my Kundalini yoga experience journal. I immediately went into the 40-day journey of a regular Kundalini yoga practice.

image: kundaliniyoga.homestead.com

The 40-day journey is significant because it is said in yogic philosophy that you can create a new habit in 40 days. However, once I got into the 40-day process, I wanted to challenge myself to take it even further. In yogic philosophy, within 90 days, the new habit is a part of your life and within 120 days, the new habit becomes who you are.

I wrote down the number of days (120) and kept on going with my Kundalini yoga practice. This type of yoga is definitely a technology. It is a science. Everything is designed to give you the best results and fast.  The key is that the practitioner has to DO IT. There is no getting around the actual practice of the meditations and kriyas.(Kriya: A completed action, technique, or process.)  You have to take action steps to get the result you desire.  Isn’t the same true for life in general?

A typical Kundalini yoga set for me would be:

In addition, I would “tune in” at the beginning with Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo, which is one of the first lessons taught in Kundalini yoga and then I’d “tune out” at the end of the set with Sat Nam (truth is my name).

image: records.photodharma.net

While the choice of kriya, mantra, and meditation changed on a regular basis, I made sure I did something for 120 days straight. This practice is still a part of my life today. I do something Kundalini yoga related every single day. And I can tell that things are blossoming in my life and will continue to do so.

Kundalini yoga has connected me with the Divine Mother/Goddess, the creative energy within, and the ability to be very much connected to my human self as well as my spirit self simultaneously. 

Kundalini yoga is a blessing in my life. I feel more confident. I feel more alive. I feel more aware. More conscious of my surroundings and myself. I may be unaware of all the details in life, but I am aware of who I am and I am learning how to enjoy the journey and not be so concerned with the destination.
___________________________________________________________________

Thank you Tameko for a great lesson in the benefits of Kundalini Yoga.

Tameko has a good blog. Check it out at: http://connectionreflections.wordpress.com

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Centering, Consciousness, Guest Blog, Healing, inspirational, Mindfulness, peace, spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Blog: My Lotus Soul Project

  1. Reblogged this on Connections & Reflections and commented:
    Check out my guest blog on Brenda Marroy’s site, Streams of Consciousness. She has a lovely site, so be sure to bookmark it. Sat nam!

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

