If I Could Change the World

In the middle of a conversation the other day, I was asked to contemplate the following question:

Question mark

Question mark (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If I had the means and the power to change anything in the world, what five things would I change?

My first thought was that I am making a change in the world by becoming the change I want to see.  However, as I sat and really pondered the question as a, “suppose this was actually possible that I could effect worldwide change,” scenario, my thoughts went deeper.  If I actually had the power to effect lasting change in this world, after thinking long and hard, I would want to do the following: 

1. I’d make sure no one ever went to bed hungry, and that everyone had clean drinking water. There are lots of things we can do without in this world, but food and drink are not included.   http://www.worldwatercouncil.org/index.php?id=25

2. I’d balance the world with matriarchy. Most women would temper aggression with soft words and kindness, and they would  not make war, nor would they sacrifice their children to it. The majority would want to talk about what’s not working, instead of fighting. 

3. I’d change everyone into a steward of the earth, so we would all appreciate and honor our earthly home.

4. I’d make everyone functional, mindful, conscious, and compassionate so we could:
A. Know that we’re all connected; we’re all part of the human family.
B. Quit trying to prove that our personal belief is the only true belief
C. Care about each other as families should.

5. I’d make war illegal. When there is a difference of opinion, the concerned parties would have to find a way to work it out amicably.

 I wouldn’t necessarily want a utopian society where everyone would be the same, because diversity has its place and teaches us toleration and acceptance. It’s not differences of opinion and beliefs that makes us a dysfunctional world, it’s the lack of acceptance of others point of view. It’s individuals, religions, political parties, and other systems which have to be right at the expense of everyone else.

You now have an idea of what my world would be like if I had the power to make widespread, sweeping change. If you had to answer the question, with the knowledge that your ideas would be possible, what would your answer be?

Please check out my Facebook page and "Like" it.

www.facebook.com/streamsofconsciousness.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Consciousness, Family, Healing, inspirational, Making choices, peace, Reflections, Relationships, spiritual, world issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to If I Could Change the World

  1. jakesprinter says:

    If you don`t mind i post this Brenda thanks http://youtu.be/fHPWoDsyE6M

  2. Wow..If only….1. I would ensure that like you everyone had access to food, water, shelter
    2. Everyone starts with equality in relation to race,creed, religion or gender (for real)
    3. Laws that are made would be enforced as written..no questions!
    4. There would be a much tougher law for abuse of any animal
    5. Much less (or maybe no ..money) spent on space exploration and instead with needs in the world we already have.

    This was tough and I’m sure after spending more time thinking on it something much more important and brilliant will come into my head…lol Diane

    • brendamarroy says:

      Good ones Diane. I especially like # 4 and 5.
      I have a hard time understanding space exploration when there are people starving.
      Each thing you listed is important and I appreciate your comment.

  3. You know, I think I’d go with your exact list, because it just makes sense. Have a beautiful weekend!

  4. I would see to it that all people were given the knowledge and wisdom to facilitate them living in harmony. If I could really create it, people would go within much more and return to their own inner authority, release all their attachment and greed and we would all create so much beauty for ourselves and the planet. There would be places where everyone is welcome and we work together and are gentle with one another, understanding higher truths, and that we are all working for a higher purpose of serving the light. The task at hand is uncreating all the mistakes we’ve made, and if we all were given the space and love to find our own inner truth, this would be seen as a worthwhile undertaking. We would all be working together to create communities that are sustainable as well as create things that make the earth happy. We would see no more separation, we would all be healed and in love with life!

    Thank you for this opportunity to vision!
    Love, Jason

  5. Yes, yes, yes, yes. Ok, so I couldn’t agree more. Thank you for writing this. ♥

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

