The Sleeping Giant

It feels like there is a sleeping giant within me, and I’m waiting for it to wake up. There’s something on the horizon, something new to me that I’ve been waiting to see.

I don’t know what it is, in fact I don’t even know its name yet. All I do know is that there is something within that has been put to sleep, locked down, sat on, pushed down, kept under wraps, hidden, and made silent way back when. I feel it beginning to stir and  it’s making wake-up noises.

The time has come to open the cage and shake the beast awake, so it can show itself. I want to see it, give it a name, and look it in the eye. I don’t think it’s something that is either good or bad. It’s something that just is.

I want to set it free.

Have you ever felt like there was something stirring within you, and you didn’t know what it was? If you have, I’d like to hear about it.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Consciousness, Feelings, Healing, inspirational, peace, self-acceptance, spiritual and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Sleeping Giant

  1. Wow.. I’ve always felt the same thing… except I get insomnia instead of onsomnia 🙂
    Since you’re a publishe author I was wondering if you can give me some pointers on my poetry writing? You have excellent writing skills and wouldn’t mind any critique whether it’s bad or good. If you have time check out my blog.. -Tanya

    • brendamarroy says:

      Hi Tonya,
      I checked out your blog before I realized you’d left a comment. I read some of your poetry and I’m touched. Your words are haunting and powerful.
      Unfortunately, I don’t know much about writing poetry, even though I’ve written a few poems, but nothing like what you write. I feel the edginess of pain and the desire to be heard in your beautiful words. Keep writing. I’ve found great catharsis in putting my journey down on paper.

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I know the feeling but I was ignoring it, and then I wanted to read your
    next post so I thought I ought to come read this one first
    it’s something, not sure if I am going to like it but it feels very urgent, more than important for some reason
    soooo… I’ll just surrender to once again embrace the journey at this new cross-road.
    Good post Brenda…
    now i get to see yours! LOls
    I really enjoy how you write…keeps me wanting to turn the page

    Take care
    )0(
    maryrose

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thanks Maryrose.
      Embracing whatever is up in our life is not always easy, but it is always necessary if we’re going to move forward in our quest for wholeness and authenticity.

      Thanks for your kind words about my writing. I like your poetry also.

  3. Amazing article thanks for sharing.
    I am a LOVE investigator Too 🙂

    http://loveinvestigator.wordpress.com/

    • brendamarroy says:

      Love investigator,
      Thanks for your nice comment. I’m getting ready to check out your blog. I appreciate all who read my words and maybe catch a semblance of self.

  4. I know exactly how you feel. I’m on the verge of making substantial career changes that will make me happier overall and my husband has just finished some critical computer certifications. I feel like our family is on the brink of something, and I’m waiting impatiently for it, which lets me know I’ve anticipated it with longing subconsciously for awhile–hence, our sleeping giant.

    I can’t wait to see what unfolds for you when your sleeping giant frees itself from the shackles of slumber.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you Amberr,
      After I posted this, the giant awoke. I’ll be blogging about it tomorrow.
      It seems there are many right now who are feeling this “knowing” that something is on the horizon. It’s a great time for healing.

  5. giannakali says:

    yes! I know that feeling…I say welcome the giant…say hello and get to know it…that is what life is all about! xo

    It makes me think of the Guest House…Rumi’s poem…

    The Guest House
    This being human is a guest house.
    Every morning a new arrival.
    A joy, a depression, a meanness,
    some momentary awareness comes
    as an unexpected visitor.
    Welcome and entertain them all!
    Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
    who violently sweep your house
    empty of its furniture,
    still, treat each guest honorably.
    He may be clearing you out
    for some new delight.
    The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
    meet them at the door laughing,
    and invite them in.
    Be grateful for whoever comes,
    because each has been sent
    as a guide from beyond.
    ~ Rumi ~

    • brendamarroy says:

      Hi Gianna,
      This is one of my favorite Rumi poems, among hundreds of others.
      I’m going to make a sign that says, : Welcome sleeping giants. Come on in, the door’s open.”

  6. jakesprinter says:

    Great post Brenda 🙂

  7. pathwriter says:

    I’ve been in this place for a couple of years, feeling that I’m being led towards…what? I’ve gotten some inklings in meditation, cryptic phrases that don’t really tell me much—which has been maddening. Currently getting ready to (figuratively) jump off a cliff into the unknown. Don’t know what’s up ahead, but I know I’m supposed to be doing what I’m doing.

    • brendamarroy says:

      You know what? After I posted this, the giant awakened and I have a name for it. I’ll be blogging about it on Monday.
      How intriguing that all I had to do was invite it to wake up.
      I’ve jumped off so many cliffs in the past, jumping off is not as fearful as it used to be. We learn, don’t we, that even if we’re not caught or we don’t fly, we’ll still be okay.
      Thank you for your comment and for reading my blog.

      • pathwriter says:

        I’ve done my share of jumping off cliffs, too. 🙂 This one is a little more daunting, but mostly it feels so right that I know it will work out. I don’t know how, but it will. Looking forward to reading your post about your now-named giant.

  8. kdkh says:

    Ah, yes. That familiar feeling of anticipation, then surprise, when the “monster” turns out to be fun!

  9. gigoid says:

    I had that very feeling for months… but then my doctor gave me an ointment that took care of it in no time…. 😉 Just kidding… I do know what you mean, and it can be both thrilling in anticipation and threatening with unknowns. And in the final stages, you can’t wait for it to manifest, hopefully before you pop! I kind of enjoy it… it’s usually something that turns out to be of great value, one way or another…. I’m probably blocking out whatever I didn’t like, so I guess there’s no way to really prepare, other than to not prepare….very Zen….

    • brendamarroy says:

      Gigoid:
      Thrilling and threatening are great ways of describing what it feels like to see something on the horizon and not be able to know what it is.
      My sleeping giant awakened after I wrote about it and invited it in, and I’ll be blogging about it on Monday. And you’re correct. It was something I was blocking because I didn’t like it. Very Zen indeed…..

  10. Yes, I have felt something stirring within the past year.

    I spent many years in the midst of depression and at last feel like I can think of doing something more. I am in my senior years and am content with my life, but I have felt that I should be stepping out of my comfort zone.

    I was speaking with a friend who volunteers at our hospital here in town. Having thought of doing some volunteering I told her that she could give my name to the coordinator, and didn’t think about it for awhile and thought that they perhaps didn’t need me…..’a little apprehensive self-doubt’ there admittedly….a hold-over from the terrible lack of worth and self-esteem that develops with depression.

    Anyway, I got a call a few days ago and so am in the midst of having the police background check you are required to get, a blood test, and a tuberculosis test, I am now awaiting the results and then hopefully I’ll be good to go!

    Also, I was at church on Sunday and saw that there was a group that meets once a month and ideas for scrap booking are given. Since I do that ‘as an amateur’….not toooooo creative, I thought that I would break out of my cocoon and do that too.

    It’s been a long time that I felt strong enough emotionally to try something new, and I’ve been actually praying about it for a while so I believe this is my answer.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Diane,
      It sounds like you are getting ready to burst into life. It’s not always easy to step outside of our comfort zone and make a break for homestretch. I’ll be thinking of you.
      Let me know what happens with your volunteer work. Kudos to you.

      • I’m leaving this comment in order that I can get notified of any new posts you do as I’ve changed my email notification address with WordPress….Diane

        • brendamarroy says:

          Writerwannabe,
          I’ve added your email address to my notification list. If you find you are getting notified twice, let me know and I’ll delete your name from my email list. Thank you for following my blog.

  11. Roseann T. Kriebel says:

    You are brave to invite the unveiling. It takes moxie to dance around the envelope. Go Brenda!

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

