I Wish I Was a Magician

English: World Peace One

Image via Wikipedia

When I look into the future, I would like to see world peace. I want for every one to have enough to eat, adequate clothing, a place they can call home, and a dream for themselves and their family.

I’m probably envisioning Utopia, and I don’t know that what I would like to see has ever been so on this planet.  It seems we’ve always had war and strife-nation against nation, and brother against brother. Perhaps I’m an idealist, which is okay, because, though my dream may be impractical, I can still have hope for change.

I wonder if I’m so out of touch with reality, that I think life needs to be filled with love and kindness. In an ideal world it would be, but we don’t live in a utopian society. We live in a world that is divided, not so much by geographical boundaries, as by greed, and self-righteousness. However, I still have the wish that we would become a kindler, gentler world.

One thing that keeps us from being a more peaceful world, is our insatiable need for more stuff. I see people working all the time, neglecting families and children, not always to make ends meet (which is understandable and honorable), but to have more. More toys, gadgets, fad items, and whatever else advertisers tell us we can’t live without. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with having “things”, however, what is wrong, is that in the process of accumulating more, we seem to be ignoring, or losing, our families and our values. I believe we’ve lost something important in our quest to surround self with more of nothing.

How can we have a peaceful world when we call others names and judge them as being wrong, because they see life differently? What is wrong with humanity, that we discard our brothers and sisters in the quest to be right and to win? If I believe something strongly, does it mean it’s the only correct belief on the planet? Does my belief make yours wrong and give me the right to put you down, or make you change your mind about what you believe? We seem to be mired in self-righteousness, thinking we are complete within ourselves. We shun the variety of life that different beliefs and life-styles create, in our fear that a belief other than our own, might threaten what we hold dear.

Most of what is going on in our world looks skewed. As I stand back and observe, I see different shades of madness; from the insane political arena, to a congress who would rather hold our citizens hostage rather than lose ground, to the greedy boardrooms of corporate America, to the biased media, which bends truth to get followers, to the advertising industry whose goal is to entice us into thinking we need bigger and better. The whole world feels out of balance, like it’s teetering on the edge of a cliff, with a sharp drop-off.  

Those who perpetrate their lies and acts in the name of their god, whether you call it Allah, Jesus, Mohammed, Mildred, or any other name, and believe they are right in doing so, scare me the most. I’m not talking about fear where I can’t sleep, or where I’m worried sick; rather, it’s the type of fear that gives me grave concern for where humanity is headed.

Magic wand

Image via Wikipedia

I wish I had a magic wand to wave that would put an end to self-righteousness and the need to win, and turn it into tolerance and compassion for all.

I wish I could create a potion that everyone could drink, which would make humans kind towards each other.

I wish I had a spell to cast that would fill humanity with self-love and acceptance, and empty us of the need to put others down, in our quest to feel okay about ourselves. 

I don’t have any of these magical tools, so I’m left with acceptance for humans as we are, and a belief that change is possible. Not change, in that each person becomes who they are not, so they can fit in with another’s concept, but rather, a recognizing of our differences, and for the truth that everyone does not have to be the same. Perhaps, somewhere along the line, civilization will believe in and practice living by the golden rule.

  I think that underneath it all, we’re looking for the same thing, which is to remember the way home to our basic goodness and peace. I pray we find that path soon, before we annihilate each other and our world.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Consciousness, peace, Reflections, self-acceptance, spiritual, world issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Wish I Was a Magician

  1. Crone you do have all those magical tools.You are the wisest woman that I have ever known who with your beliefs can change the world for the betterment of humanity.I stand beside you with the hope and desire for change from greed and hate to self as is and true Love for humanity and Mother earth.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you my beloved friend. I do believe that this change will start with each person learning to love and accept who they are, and practice treating themselves with compassion. How can we heal the world, when we’re not willing to heal our self??? That’s my message of kindness to humanity.

  2. Pingback: Beyond Belief… INSPIRATION! « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

  3. brendamarroy says:

    You’re welcome Rosie. It’s a mouthful, isn’t it? Thank you for being a faithful follower.

  4. Roseann T. Kriebel says:

    Very well spoken, Brenda. Thank you!

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

