Kissing the Ground

Cover of "The Essential Rumi"

Cover of The Essential Rumi

When I got up Thursday morning, I noticed I was feeling a little unsure about a couple of things in my life.  I picked up my Essential Rumi book, which I read every day. Opening it, I turned to where I had stopped the day before, and read this poem:

Today, like every other day,
We wake up empty and frightened.
Don’t open the door to the study and begin reading.
Take down the dulcimer.
Let the beauty we love be what we do.
There are hundreds of ways to kiss the ground.    Rumi

The last two lines seemed to jump off the page and hit my solar plexus. As I re-read these words, I realized my fear and doubt were quickly being replaced with overwhelming gratitude. At that moment, I felt compelled to stop questioning myself, and to take stock of the things in life that I truly love.

One of my loves is nature. Since it was a sunny morning, I decided to put my books away and go outside to drink my coffee. As I sat out back, looking at the budding trees, the white Amaryllis blooming in the dark red pot, and the tiny birds at the bird feeder, I felt renewed. I sensed my uncertainty diminishing, and being replaced by hope and joy.

There is something present in nature that calls to me. It is both magical and mystical, it pulls forth a song from deep within my being, and I feel more alive. It sharpens my senses, lifts my heart, and reminds me that all is well in my world.

Another thing I love is that I get to take part fully in the life I have chosen. I don’t have to wear a watch or keep track of time, nor do I have anyone requiring anything of me. I remember those long-gone days when my four children were young, and my time was not my own. I did not realize then, that “this too shall pass” was really true, and that in time my children would be grown and gone, and my life would change. Even though that was a busy time for me, if I could go back I would not alter a thing. I know for a certainty, that though there were many hectic, and sometimes chaotic moments, I was living life as I chose.

When I spend my days writing, I’m doing what I want to do, and fulfilling a dream. I live my passion and have the good fortune of getting up when I want, eating when I want, wearing what I want, taking naps when I’m tired or sleepy, and looking like I want to look.  

I’m privileged to share my days with a beautiful, loving husband who is kind and gentle, and who loves me unconditionally. Our marriage is filled with romance, laughter, and a sharing of values and basic beliefs.

I appreciate the beauty of continually being hungry and thirsty for more of Spirit, and of having faith and trust in something greater than me, which abides within. I hold sacred my belief in the connection of everything, and in goodness and compassion.

I could fill tomes with the beauty I love, and yet I see how easy it is to forget all that I have and all that I am. Too often I get caught up in uncertainty about my writing, and before I know it I’m doubting myself and what I’m doing.  That critical parent who lives in my head, pulls me backwards and questions my abilities.

When this happens, I forget who I am and what I love, and in my forgetfulness I become frightened, and think I’m wasting my time. Then, by the grace of god,  Spirit nudges me and reminds me once again, that I am following my passion and living my truth. 

It is in those moments, in the midst of remembering, that I take down the dulcimer and put away the books.  Feeling like a breath of fresh air is blowing over me, I step outside and lay on the ground. With my face buried in the earth, I whisper words of thanks to creator for all I have and all I am.

Kissing the ground
Kissing the ground

I leave you with two questions.

1. What do you love?
2. Are you doing what you love to do?

I would appreciate hearing your responses.

Please visit my Facebook page at: http://facebook.com/streamsofconsciousness.
If you are pleased with what you see, I hope you will “like” my page.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awareness, Consciousness, healing stories, inspirational, Reflections, spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kissing the Ground

  1. pathwriter says:

    This is one of my favorite Rumi passages. I even use the last two lines as my email “signature”…

    I, too, am lifted up by nature, and I have been lucky to spend most of my life doing what I love. I took a detour in recent years, but am getting ready to take the leap of following my heart (taking down the dulcimer) and creating an authentic life for myself once again.

    How lovely that you are living the life that you are and have such a deep appreciation for it. I believe that we can increase the light in the world by doing this alone. 🙂

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you Viki. It’s always good to connect with others on the path. Isn’t Rumi’s poetry amazing? So much of what he writes speaks to my heart. I appreciate your comment.

  2. Sasha says:

    I really enjoyed this post. I’m at the time in my life where my only child graduates this year. It’s very hard seeing my daughter planing the future.dont get me wrong I’m happy for her. I guess I’m looking for a do over! I’ve been sick for almost 11 years. Seeing her plan it remind me of illness pulling the rug out from me.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Hi Sasha,
      Ouch. Sounds like empty nest syndrome. It’s not always easy seeing our babies leave, but when they can do it gracefully it means we’ve done a good job of preparing them for the world.Sorry to hear you’re sick. Are you better?
      Thank you for your comment and for reading my blog.

  3. What do I love? Life.This planet. My husband. Writing. and so many small things, like the first sip of tea, the fragrance of frangipani, ocean swims in early mornings…

    Am I doing what I love to do? Yes. Life is too short, and too precious not to!

  4. Ann Langbecker says:

    I am so glad to read this blog. Thank you, Brenda! What you write often gives me a spoonful of nourishment when I feel empty and very alone. I am in my sixties and dont have life figured out! I am a gypsy-grandmother with no anchors…

    • brendamarroy says:

      Dear Ann,
      You mean there are people who have life figured out???? Whenever I think I’ve got it, it changes. Or, I realize I didn’t have it all together after all. It’s a moment by moment journey, isn’t it? But, you know what? I’d rather a moment by moment, than having the whole thing planned for the next umpteenth years.
      I love gypsy grandmothers without anchors. Gypsy is good. Ive been accused of being one myself, and of dressing like one. Sounds like we could be kindred spirits.
      Thank you for reading my blog and for your comment.

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

