Passing Along the Honor

I know today is Thursday and I usually post my blog on Monday, but since 2011 ends on Saturday, I thought I’d post this as my last blog of the year. On Monday I’ll post my first blog of 2012.

 I was delighted to receive a note last week that let me know I was being honored with the Versatile Blogger Award. Thanks to my cyber-friend, Jerri, for the honor. I subscribe to Jerri’s blog and look forward daily to seeing what she has to say. She’s a daily blogger and her posts are witty, filled with honesty about herself and her life, insightful, and well written. Her blog is listed on my sidebar, but here it is again. http://seekingsearchingmeaning.wordpress.com  Take the time to check it out; you’ll be glad you did.

I started my blog in January, 2011, and it has been one of the best things I’ve done for myself. I’ve met some incredible people, have learned a lot of lessons from fellow bloggers,  been introduced to new concepts, and have laughed, cheered,  and cried over others humor, triumphs, and tragedies. Thanks to all who follow me on my blog and who take the time to comment on what I’ve written. As all bloggers know, that is how we know we’re reaching you.

I am nominating the following fourteen bloggers for the contributions they’ve made to my life and to the lives of all who read their words. If they choose to accept this honor, they will need to meet the following requirements:

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post. Thank you Jerri.

2. Share seven things about yourself. Okay, here goes.

* I am almost seventy, and believe aging should be embraced and appreciated.

* I am married to an awesome man who I love totally. He is my confidant and my anam-cara.

* One thing in life I would love to do is sing, and I can’t carry a tune. (Seriously, I really can’t)

* I love to engage in creative cooking. Making up recipes is really fun and most of the time I love what I’ve created. Unfortunately, there have been a few times when I’ve had to throw away my dinner.

* I really like to laugh, and covet those times when I have a good belly laugh.

* I believe in spirituality, but eschew religion.

* I am involved in humanity and I’m glad to be a part of what’s happening on the planet now

3. Pass this honor along to fifteen recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading.

4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about this honor

5. Post a picture of the Versatile Blogger Award on your site.

Here are my nominees:

http://butchdean.wordpress.com  LeRoy writes from his heart and his blogs are warm and fuzzy. Sometimes his words fill me with nostalgia because he and I grew up in the same era.

http://beatbloodpressure.wordpress.com Ellen, who lives in Germany, writes about managing blood pressure. She is a naturopath who dispenses her clinical knowledge with bits and pieces of homespun information. I don’t have any blood pressure problems, but I’ve learned a lot about my body from this blog.

http://www.madmaxisms.blogspot.com/ My friend Betsy has a great sense of humor when it comes to politics. She runs two blogs; one on politics and one on writing. She would be a great political pundit because of the way she writes about the insanity of the political world. Betsy is a soon-to-be published author and her words make for a good read.

http://oriahsinvitation.blogspot.com/ Oriah Mountain Dreamer is one of my favorite authors. She writes from her heart and often, as I read her words, I think she’s talking to me. She’s authored a few books, my favorite being “The Dance”. Check her out.

http://journeyofabutterfly1.blogspot.com/ Tameko is a gifted writer and teacher. I met her through Sagewoman magazine. I contacted her because she lived in the same town I did. We began an online relationship and I covet her friendship.

http://itsnotsasha.blogspot.com/?v=0 Sasha’s blog is about heartfelt irreverence. I just found her through LinkedIn. Her blog about New Years Eve, “It Happens”, is hilarious. 

http://middle-aged-diva.blogspot.com/ Carol Cassara writes about living your best life at any age. I found her blog on Facebook and always enjoy whatever she writes.

http://beyondmeds.com/ This is an amazing blog that is hosted by Gianni. She presents alternatives to psychiatry, has guest bloggers, and has written for four and a half years about her transformative journey.

http://willspirit.com/ I found Will’s blog on Beyond Meds, and I immediately subscribed to it. In December he’s posting poetry every day instead of writing. Will writes about science, mental health, and spirituality from the viewpoint of a physician.

http://ninabadzin.com/ I found Nina’s blog on the Writers Digest website. She is a writer and her blog reflects her writing life. She gives helpful tips on writing and I look forward to her once a week post.

http://mandythompson.com/ I don’t remember where I found Mandy’s blog but I enjoy her posts. She writes about anything going on in her life, and on many occasions has made me stop and think about things going on in my life.

http://amberrisme.com/ This a really good blog that I just started following. What makes this blog unique is that Amberr has a schedule for every day of the week. She has Sunday Soapbox, Music Monday, etc. She also has a place for guest bloggers which is awesome. I’m looking forward to submitting something to her so I can be published on her blog.

http://billfbma.wordpress.com/ This is the first blog I started following. I enjoy Bill’s posts about lessons he’s learned in life.

http://taketochange.com/ Al has a Positive Change Project, where he’s posting one positive action or change he is taking each day for a year.  His changes so far are about the environment and self-development. Very interesting and inspiring.

I’ve cheated here. I’m supposed to nominate fifteen blogs, and I’ve only done fourteen. I keep up with many other writers, but some of them post on Facebook only and do not have a blog. I’m indebted to these writers who are taking time to put their thoughts on paper so they can make a difference on the planet.

I appreciate being honored by Jerri, and I trust that these blogs that I’ve nominated will feel honored by my words of recognition and commendation for their work. Keep on writing folks. I love your blogs.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Awards, inspirational, personal, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Passing Along the Honor

  1. willspirit says:

    Thank you for the nomination, Brenda, and congratulations on the award.

    Blessings to you and yours.

  2. Congratulations on the well-deserved award. Thank you for honoring me, too, on your blog. I appreciate it very much. Happy New Year!

    P.S. it was a pleasure learning more about you in the post, too.

  3. gingerclub says:

    Dear Brenda,

    What a lovely idea! I will certainly pass this on, but it will take a while! Congratulation on your award! I am happy for you!

    I am wishing you another successful year of writing and of course many more to come. For now, I start your suggested activities by linking you to my page, which I should have done long time ago.

    The rest will follow, as I find the time! Thank you very much for mentioning my blog.

    Peace and light!

    Ellen
    http://beatbloodpressure.wordpress.com

  4. Betsy says:

    Brenda,
    I’m honored and humbled by your recognition of my blogs. I have fun writing both and like being able to differentiate between my serious writing blog and my snarky political/cat blog. I look forward to more postings next year. More important, I look forward to reading your blogs. Write on.
    Bets

  5. Nina Badzin says:

    Thank you so much, Brenda. Wow! I loved getting your email! Very touched. 🙂

  6. LeRoy Dean says:

    Congrats on your award and thanks for the mention. Have a great 2012.

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

