Retraction

This blog is called Streams of Consciousness and my intention is always to write from what I consider my consciousness. When I went back and read my blog from last week, I realized I made an incorrect statement and feel the necessity of retracting something I said. 

So, here goes.  I said that my mother has dementia. What I should have said is that I believe my mother has the beginning stages of dementia, based on what I see and what I know about dementia. However, I am not a doctor and therefore am not qualified to make a diagnosis on anyone’s state of mental or physical health. Forgive me for my haughtiness in making that statement.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Consciousness, personal, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Retraction

  1. Lucy Marroy says:

    Brenda,
    Since when do you need an M.D. to know or “assume” someone has dementia?
    I do not have an M.D.; however, I do have common sense. I read Dr. Gott and watch Dr. Phil and Oprah.
    If Pearl does not have the beginning stage of dementia, then I have been misled by this very intelligent group of people.
    Someone who may have assualted you for your lack of “medical degree” is just being MEAN.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you Lucy. You know the pain I’m going through right now and I’m just trying to keep everything honest and straight. I was using my common sense also in saying my mother has dementia. But, due to the grief I received from family about the statement, I did what I thought was best and that was to print a retraction and admit that I am not qualified to diagnose my mother. But, yes like you, I do strongly believe she has dementia.

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

