A Life of Gratitude

 Because I live in a state of thankfulness, gratitude is an easy topic for me to write about. I lay in bed in the morning and give thanks for another day, for a good nights sleep, for having the love of my life next to me to cuddle with, and for a healthy body.  In bed at night, I go through a list of gratitudes for the day as I drift off to sleep. I offer thanks all day long as I consciously notice all the good in my life.
 
Gratitude is not only something I feel, it is a state of being. It flows through me and oozes out of my pores. It’s in the breaths I take, the words I speak, and the everyday activities of my life. It fuels me and nourishes my soul.
 
This morning, as I write this blog, this is what I feel most grateful for:
 
1. I’m grateful I was raised during what I consider the best of times. Life was simple, the American dream was alive and well, we were taught the importance of family values, high moral standards prevailed, and growing up was filled with fun and action.  Summer vacations were the highlight of the year, and my brother and I and our friends played from sun-up till sun-down. I remember getting my chores done as quickly as I could, so I could go out and play the day away. 
 
I look at my grandchildren and great-grandchildren and realize that they will not know life as I knew it. Their life is filled with stuff like computers, hand-held games, I-phones and I-pads, shopping at the mall, and activities that take place inside.  Not that there’s anything wrong with any of this, but they don’t know the thrill of hopscotch, jacks, jump rope, London Bridges, dodge ball, tag, kick the can, playing ladies, and riding bicycles all day. They’re missing the delicious feeling of coming inside tired, dirty and sweaty from playing out all day long.
 
Check out this wonderful video about the 50’s and 60’s. : http://oldfortyfives.com/DYRT.htm
 
2. I’m grateful my mother and brother are both alive and doing well. I appreciate my mother and the impact her life had on mine. She was a woman ahead of the times in the 40’s and 50’s, and though I was not aware of it, it made a difference in my life as a woman. My mother, at ninety, is still full of life and I hope she has a lot of living left to do.
 
My brother and I were close when we were little. He was my big brother and I wanted to follow him everywhere. I loved riding on the handlebars of his bike, playing cowboys and indians with him and his friends, playing canasta in the afternoon when my grandmother insisted we stay out of the “blazing” Louisiana sun for at least two hours on hot summer days, and going to the movies on Sundays. My brother used to tickle me till I cried “uncle”, he taught me how to swim, he let me tag along with him, and being my big brother, he felt it was his duty to tell me there was no such thing as Santa Claus.  
 
 And then we became teenagers and grew apart, and for years I couldn’t figure out who he was. He was this gawky boy who I didn’t particularly like and who I couldn’t understand. I knew I missed him but I didn’t know how to get back to the relationship we once shared. Thankfully, about fifteen years ago we began to draw close to each other again, and now I can’t imagine life without him. I love my big brother and I’m grateful to have him in my life.
 
3. I’m grateful for my beautiful women friends. When I was younger, I had a few friends, but the connection I had with them was nothing compared to how I connect to women today. I used to believe women were my competition, and that they were untrustworthy. And then I grew to know the feminine face of god, and my entire belief about women changed, including how I perceived my mother. As I related to  loving, accepting and nurturing divine feminine energy, I began to fall in love with the sisterhood of women. Females were no longer my competitors, they became my allies and supporters. I esteem my women friends and cannot imagine life without them.
 

Brenda and Heather "sharing love."

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4. I’m grateful for this incredible journey called life.  I use the word “incredible” because my life is filled with divine energy, goodness and kindness, compassion and mercy, and love and peace. I have everything I need and my coffers overflow. I am learning to live fearlessly, to expand and contract, to breathe deeply, and to be present to whatever shows up. I’m giving myself space to accept who I am with all of my flaws and bad habits, to acknowledge my predisposition to anxiety, self-pity, ego, fear of loss, and to know that ultimately, who I am is good. I love being in a place where I can simplify my life and commit to the path that I am here to walk. I came to the planet at this time for a specific purpose, and I’m thankful that I’m able to live my purpose.
 
5. I’m filled with gratitude for my beloved husband and for the relationship that we share. He is my anam cara and though it took years to find each other, we finally crossed paths. Our love is gentle, kind, and trusting.
 
 Due to my deep abandonment issues with men, it has not been easy for me to trust any man. I used to look at men as being harsh, uncaring, and emotionally unavailable.  I bought into the distorted image that society paints about men being superior and smarter.  Being married to Paul has opened my eyes to the depth and heart of men who are true to their being. My husband is a strong, muscled, virile man; yet, he is able to express his kindness, gentleness, and tenderness. In him, I’m able to see the full expression of a man who is not into trying to be what society says he’s supposed to be. Instead, he just lives who he is; a mixture of male and female energy. I honor and appreciate his male strength and gladly call upon him for lifting and moving. I also call upon him for insight and feelings about many of the decisions I make. I trust his truth and I see his wisdom.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
My life changed  when I decided to start a gratitude journal. It was a suggestion Oprah made and I thought, “Why not?”  I bought a notebook and every morning and night I made a gratitude list.  Before I knew it, I realized how full and blessed my life was. The more I acknowledged the fullness, the more it expanded. There are times when I feel like I’m going to burst open, I’m so overwhelmed with thanksgiving in my heart. Life is good.
 
” God gave you 86,400 seconds today. Have you used one to say, “thank you?”  William R. Ward
About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Consciousness, Family, Feelings, inspirational, life musings, personal, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Life of Gratitude

  1. gingerclub says:

    Dear Brenda,

    I am always grateful for your posts. You have gained so much wisdom which is lovely to read about. It makes me feel happy to see a woman having become wisdom due to her experiences and her true choices in life.

    You are certainly a true inspiration, dear Brenda!
    Wishing you more grateful moments to come:-)

    Yours truly,

    Ginger

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

