Miracles, Serendipity, Synchronicity, or Coincidence

Miracle: An event that goes against the laws of nature. A supernatural event.  Serendipity: The faculty of making fortunate discoveries by accident. Synchronicity: The coincidental occurrence of events, and especially psychic events, that seem related but are not explained by conventional mechanics of causality.  Coincidence: An accidental, but seemingly planned , occurrence of events or ideas at the same time.

All of the above are used to describe the indescribable, and many times unexplainable events that happen in our lives.  As humans, who don’t always know what to label our out of the ordinary experiences,we usually call them a coincidence. That seems to be a safe way to describe things that happen to us without having to worry about being called, “mystical”, “a believer in woo woo”, “a quack job”, or “out there”. 

At the risk of being negatively labeled, I’m going to tell you up front that I do believe in miracles, and I suspect that synchronicity, serendipity, and coincidence are part of the miraculous.  My husband and I often, with awe and astonishment, say to each other, “My, we do lead a charmed life, don’t we?”  We don’t think there’s anything special about us, we just notice how often the miraculous happens. I’m not sure about this, but maybe we have so much of the unexplained in our lives because we’re open to miracles abounding in us, for us, and all around us. I could fill a book with stories of the many events that have happened over the years that I knew were supernaturally driven.  I’ll share a few of these stories with you and let you  form your own conclusions about what to call these events.

1) My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Ireland. We planned on spending seven full days touring the island on a motorcycle. When we talked to the people at the motorcycle rental store in Ireland, they told us to be sure and bring rain gear because they’d been experiencing an extremely rainy summer, and the end of the rain was no where in sight.  We packed our Frog Toggs and were prepared to wear them, but put our request out to universal energy for dry skies while we were there.

It was raining when we flew into Dublin that first morning, and since we weren’t going to pick up our motorcycle until the next day, we caught a bus into downtown and walked the city in the rain. We woke up to a light drizzle the next morning so we put our rain gear on and caught our bus to Naas to  pick up our motorcycle.  By time we got to the motorcycle rental place the drizzle had stopped and the sky was clear. We headed to Wicklow Gap and Glendalough and when we got there we stopped at a pub for a bowl of Irish stew. While in the pub, we could see out the window that it had started sprinkling again, but when we got outside the rain stopped. We rode for seven days without a drop of rain falling on us. It was cool and many days were cloudy, but there was no rain. The morning we were leaving Dublin, while on the bus on the way to the airport it started raining again, and we flew out of Dublin as we flew in, in the rain. 

2) A few years back I was driving on the beltway around Washington, DC . Traffic was backed up for miles and we were in a stop and go situation.  We’d been cruising at about 35 mph and coming to another stop when I said to my co-worker, “I need to get out of this lane” and immediately pulled over into the lane next to me. As soon as I got out of the left lane, a car that was a short distance behind me, crashed into the car that had been in front of me in the lane I had been in. Had I stayed in the left lane, my car would have been hit. 

3) One day Paul and I were riding our motorcycle in Lexington, Ky. I’d dropped my car off at the Saturn dealership and the service manager told me to call in about an hour and they’d give me an estimate on how much it would cost to repair my car. We stopped along the side of the road so I could make the call and I realized I’d forgotten to get a business card with the phone number on it. Deciding we needed to find a place with a phonebook, I was getting ready to climb back on the motorcycle. As I looked down, there at my foot was what looked like a dirty piece of paper. I stooped to pick it up so I could put it in the trash and as I looked at it, it was a business card for the Saturn dealership where I’d left my car.

4) One Sunday, we were out riding our motorcycle when the skies suddenly turned black. We tried to make it home before the storm hit, but quickly realized we couldn’t. We saw a gas station and decided to pull into it. There was a roof over the gas pumps so we figured we’d be safe and dry under the roof. We could have parked anywhere but decided to pull over to the edge of the roof by the last pump. The sky opened up and the rain fell steadily for over an hour. The roof leaked everywhere the bolts had been placed, except above our heads. As we sat on our bike under the edge of the roof, we realized that the only dry spot at that entire gas station was a circle surrounding us. We were dry and our motorcycle was dry. 

5) I had signed up for a rally in Corbin, Ky. and decided I did not want to attend. I called the promoter the morning the rally opened to cancel my booth space and let him know I was not going to come. For some reason I let him talk me into going to the rally, so I hung up the phone, got in my car and drove to Kentucky. When I arrived, vendors were just starting to set up so I had my choice of any space I wanted. I chose a space, and as I began to unload my car I changed my mind, because another space down the way looked like it might be more conducive to heavier foot traffic.  As I was setting up my booth in the new space, a man who was already set up next door to me came over and introduced himself.  We talked for quite a while and really hit it off. That man was my husband, who had also tried to get out of going to the rally.

6) Recently Paul and I decided to buy a new motorcycle. We walked from one end of the store to the other and somehow missed seeing the bike we wound up buying. We were making a final sweep of the showroom when Paul spotted our Yamaha VStar 1300. “Did you just bring this bike out?” he inquired of the salesperson. “No, it’s been there all along,” the salesman replied. How had we missed it? It was perfect, was the right price, and was just what we were looking for. We went in the next morning to fill in the paperwork and found out that they’d decided that morning to knock $1,000.00 off of the price of that line of bike. Coincidence? I think not.

I believe events like these happen to everyone, and that these events go unnoticed or explained away as coincidence. However the name we give to the events doesn’t really matter. What does matter is that we learn  to stay open to all of life and to let it flow. There is obviously something larger than humanity at work here and I call this largeness benevolent, connected, all encompassing energy. This energy flows through us and around us and connects us to each other in a mystical way. Because of that connection, we show up at certain times, move a certain way to a certain place at a certain time, escape what looks like the inescapable, run into people we’ve been thinking about, and find the answers to life and our all-important questions in places we least expect.  We pick up on others thoughts and feelings and move accordingly, without giving thought to why or how. Some people call this energy God, Allah, Buddah, the Great I Am, Jesus, Lord,  Goddess, Creator, nothing, or everything. I don’t think there is a right or a wrong name for this energy and no matter what you call it, it is miraculous the way it moves in us, around us and for us.  

“Miracles” happen every day to all of us, some larger than others. I hope you’ll start paying attention to those that happen in your life and acknowledge them.  I’d like to hear your stories. I’d also like to know what you call the unexplained that happens in your life. Do you expect life to move in your behalf? If you ask the heavens to part for you, do you think they will? I look forward to hearing from you.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in Consciousness, inspirational, life musings, Miracles, personal, Reflections, spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Miracles, Serendipity, Synchronicity, or Coincidence

  1. Betsy Ashton says:

    Call it what you want, but I met my husband when we were both on business trips in Japan. After what had been the week from hell, all I wanted to do was eat at the hotel and snuggle down with a glass of Scotch, a good book, and go to sleep early. My colleague talked me into going out for dinner. Then she dragged me to a disco. After a while, I needed to go to the bathroom. I was waiting in line when a gorgeous guy who looked like Kenny Rogers came out of the men’s room. He said, “When you get done in there, do you want to dance?” I said yes, peed and raced back to my table.

    30 years later we are still together and still celebrate what we call “Henry Afrika Day.” That’s the name of the long-defunct disco.

  2. Tammy says:

    This is a wonderful post. I believe in miracles too. Everyday, that I wake up in the morning and I’m able to walk, talk and think clearly, is a miracle in of itself. There are so many people who can’t say that. Keep up the wonderful writing.

    Tammy

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thank you Tammy. I agree wholeheartedly with you about the miracle of life and being able to move, and walk and talk. I’m always in awe over how my body operates without my having to issue commands to it.

  3. brendamarroy says:

    Thanks for your comment. Perhaps quantum physics helps me to understand the best how energy moves and responds. It’s all pretty amazing to me.

  4. Hermionejh says:

    I LOVE this post! Yes, I’m always trying to convince myself that the Universal ups on my behalf are just coincidences because I don’t want to seem too ‘out there’, but I really know there are angels, or energy, or whatever it is, all around me.
    I decide over and over to trust that the Universe (God/dess) really does actively care – regardless of the specifics of how that care comes through. I love hearing how others experience those magical or miraculous moments and events. Thank you so much for sharing this – it added such a lift to my day! Cheers!

  5. gingerclub says:

    Dear Brenda,

    What a nice post and nicely written. I liked your “request out to the universal energy”. Either intentionally or unintentionally we probably make this request via our own energy. The universal energy flows back to us and provides what we need, if we remain as you said “open”.
    I have made this experience a lot in my life with books and people. For some reason I picked up or stood exactly in front of a book which I needed for my soul. My feet or something was just directing me there, though I was not consciously looking for it.

    Ginger

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thanks for your response Ginger. It’s always good to hear from others who realize the connection between everything since we’re all a part of universal energy. Don’t you just love it when you get exactly what you need?

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

