SAYING GOODBYE TO MY COMFORT ZONE

 Okay, I admit it. My heart is pounding and I’m sweating at the thought of setting up this blog site and making a commitment to posting to it weekly. I’m stepping out of my comfort zone because I’m technically challenged and I’m afraid I won’t be able to figure how to navigate this site. But I’m doing it anyway because I refuse to look at a scardy cat in the mirror.  

Here are my three biggest fears:  

1)I”m afraid to commit to writing something and posting it every week because I may run out of ideas. Thanks to my sensible and creative self which says, “Nonsense. Just do it,” here I am writing a blog.

2) Do I really have something to say that needs to be said? My sense of inadequacy sometimes surfaces when I start creating, but I’m willing to move beyond this fear.

3)Will people actually come to my blog site so they can follow what I have to say on a weekly basis?

Giving careful thought to the above, I know that it is time for me to step out of my comfort zone and take a chance on following my dream. I want to write a book this year and this is my starting point. I’m thinking that if people are interested enough to read my blog they may be interested enough to buy and read a book that I would write.

So, here I am world. My first post on my new blog site. I’m willing to be uncomfortable in order to follow what I’m passionate about, which is writing. Next week, I’ll have more to say about leaving our comfort zone.  Until then, I trust you’ll leave me a comment.

About brendamarroy

blogger, and author
This entry was posted in life musings. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to SAYING GOODBYE TO MY COMFORT ZONE

  1. Becky Mushko says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Brenda. The technological part gets easier as you go along. I look forward to reading your future posts.

  2. Great job on the blog. I can still remember how overwhelming it was dealing with blogger. I have several I keep up with now.I even upgraded to wordpress on some even thoigh I feel like I’m going to be balad at the end of some of the issues. I cringe when I have to upgrade to a different version. Good luck. I found you from long ridge. I’m a current student

  3. Jean says:

    Dear New Friend,

    You may get two comments from me. The first disappeared into space. I loved your blog. The idea of your husband leaving a word for you everyday was a great idea. The story about your grandmother touched my heart. This blog was a great idea.

    Jean

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thanks Jean. Remembering that event with my grandmother touched my heart also. It made me aware of how many warm and wonderful memories we can forget unless prompted to remember them.

  4. Jennifer says:

    The Planet is ready to hear from you Yaya. Glad you are willing to utilize the internet as one way to meet your readers. I look forward to watching you progress & continue following your dreams. Love you Loads, Hugs N Kisses, Yaya….

  5. Paul Davidson says:

    Don’t worry my love… you are very inspirational! This will catch on and people will flock to this site…

  6. Bill Tucker says:

    Brenda,

    The discipline of a writing schedule forces you to always be on the lookout for topics. It’s amazing how ideas pop into your head. If you are concerned about running out of ideas, carry a journal and jot down your thoughts as they occur.

    Last night my wife made a comment about “purging” my closet. Check next week’s posting and you will read how I am going to use it.

    • brendamarroy says:

      Thanks Bill. You’re absolutely right. My commitment to myself every morning is to stay present and pay attention to detail. I was just saying to my daughter last week how I was looking for a way to have something available at all times to jot my thoughts down on so I could remember it all. She recommended a small notebook in my pocket. And I certainly will check out your posting for next week.

  7. Susan says:

    If not now when – I say with complete confidence in you. Maybe, just maybe, you are the leader giving others confidence to step out. Yes, I am listening to myself!!!
    Blessings to you, my friend, and your dreams,

  8. Alexandra says:

    Hey Crone congradts on your blog and first posting..I’m ready for the next instalment. I love your wisdome and imaginitive thinking!!

  9. linda says:

    Hi Brenda –
    I have ALWAYS known you to be a creative thinker and a person who lives “out of the box.” I’m excited to hear what you have to say in this important, ever-changing, up-coming year. Love and blessings to you always, my dear friend.

  10. Roseann T. Kriebel says:

    Hey Brenda~~~The name of this “new age” is boundless horizons. And that surely requires dancing outside our comfort zone. It’s a club, so we all better get comfortable being uncomfortable.
    Here’s one for you: Duane (husband) and I are embarking on a new way of bringing in $. He no longer will be doing much renovation work, mainly because there is not much of a demand, but primarily because he is a fabulous artist, and needs a shove being his “artist self”. So I am his temporary assistant as he creates wood snowflakes, packaging and finding leads for corporate sales. His sales have been very encouraging among his builders’ forum buddies. Thank you, Creator. But we are now in the pendulum space where not much is happening for income. We are making arrangements for temporary help from Salvation Army, and in the meantime, keeping faith that our $ IS growing. Uncomfortable? Frickin’ right! But where will one go, unless following our bliss?

    • brendamarroy says:

      How cool Rosie. Much love to you and Duane on your new adventure. I agree about the “boundless horizons.” The only thing stopping all of us from going all the way is fear.

I'm interested in what my readers think. Please leave a Comment.

